Britain bans entry from South America and Portugal because of the “Brazilian” strain

Britain on Friday introduces a ban on entry from South America, Portugal, and Cape Verde because of a new strain of  detected in Brazil.

It was announced by the Minister of Transport Grant Shapps, reports BBC.

The ban will take effect from 4:00 GMT on Friday.

According to him, British and Irish citizens, as well as foreign nationals with the right of residence will still be able to enter but will have to isolate themselves for 10 days.

The decision was announced following Thursday’s ministerial meeting.

The ban applies to people who have traveled with or through Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and in the past 10 days.

Shapps said was included given its close tourist ties to Brazil, but an exception will be made for carriers to allow the transportation of basic goods.

Earlier, a new, more contagious strain of the  was reportedly found in Great Britain itself.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *