Germany closed borders with Austria and Czech Republic due to new strains of coronavirus

on Sunday stopped most travel between regions in the east and south of the country and the neighboring Czech Republic and to stop the spread of COVID-19 mutations.

It is reported by DW.

The restrictions are valid for at least 10 days. On Thursday, designated Austrian Tyrol and the border regions of the Czech Republic as “zones of viral mutation.”

The government made the decision after the South African variant of coronavirus B.1.351 was discovered in the Austrian Tyrol. The British version B.1.1.7 was discovered in the Czech Republic.

There are concerns that the options are more contagious and that vaccines may not be as effective against them.

On Sunday, about 1,000 police officers were mobilized to enforce new border controls.

State railway company Deutsche Bahn has suspended traffic to and from the affected areas.

Only Germans returning home and basic workers such as doctors can enter Germany. Trade links will also be maintained.

Even those allowed to cross the restricted border are “likely to be stopped” if they cannot provide proof of a negative COVID test, warned Bavarian Prime Minister Markus Seder, whose federal state borders the Tyrol region.

As of Sunday, is also subject to new German restrictions, despite the fact that it does not have a land border with the country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *