US Treasury expands the list of sanctions on North Korea

The DPRK authorities continue to bypass the United Nations ban on coal exports, Washington said.

The US Treasury has added six companies and four vessels to the sanctions list against the DPRK. This is stated in a press release from the department, released on Tuesday, December 8.

It is noted that the legal entities added to the “black” list are based, in particular, in the UK, Vietnam, and China. With their help, according to the head of the Ministry Stephen Mnuchin, the North Korean authorities continue to bypass the UN ban on coal exports — their main source of funding for the program to create weapons of mass destruction.

In addition, forced labor of prisoners is used in the mining industry of the DPRK, according to a press release.

Recall that inclusion in the sanctions list means a freeze of assets in the United States and a ban for American citizens or companies from doing business with its persons involved.

In July, the European Union reportedly extended sanctions against North Korea for another year due to Pyongyang’s ongoing development of ballistic missiles and nuclear weapons.

Earlier, the regime of unilateral sanctions against North Korea by US President Donald Trump was also extended for a year due to the threat of North Korea’s policy to the national security of the States.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *