Portugal opens to tourists from almost all EU countries and Britain

Portugal opens to tourists from almost all EU countries and Britain

From Monday, Portugal will be open to tourists from almost all countries after months of restrictions aimed at preventing the spread of COVID-19.

This was stated by the Portuguese Ministry of the Interior, the AFP news agency reports.

Travelers from countries with  levels below 500 cases per 100,000 residents in the past 14 days can make “all types of visits to Portugal, including even minor ones,” the ministry said in a statement on Saturday.

It says that the restrictions will be maintained for five countries-Cyprus, Croatia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, and Sweden. Restrictions also remain in place for non-European countries, including Brazil, India, and South Africa.

“We do not open tourism to the whole world. Restrictions remain for third countries, “ the ministry’s spokeswoman added.

According to her, the restrictions are lifted for “passengers from the European Union, the Schengen Area and the United Kingdom”, provided that they have a disease rate below 500 cases per 100,000 inhabitants.

The Schengen area covers 26 European countries, most of which are located in the European Union.

According to the rules, all passengers over the age of two traveling to the country will still have to present a negative PCR test taken within 72 hours before boarding.

Airlines that allow passengers to board without a test will be fined between 500 and 2000 euros per passenger.

Portugal and the United Kingdom now have the lowest levels of  spread in Europe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *