EU agreed on new sanctions against Belarus: Lukashenko on the blacklist

The permanent representatives of the 27 EU member states approved the expansion of sanctions against the Belarusian authorities, including the illegitimate President Alexander Lukashenko.

[adinserter block=”2″]

This was announced by a source in the delegation of one of the European countries in the EU Council.

“The ambassadors approved a new blacklist, which includes representatives of the authorities, including Lukashenko,” he said.

Let us remind you that following Latvia, Lithuania, and Estonia, the rest of the European Union should have joined the protesters in sanctions against Lukashenko because of the falsifications in the August 9 elections and violence. The decision was made at a meeting of the EU Council at the level of foreign ministers of the EU member states, which took place on October 12 in Luxembourg, but it was not officially announced until today.

In August, the European Union refused to recognize the results of the sixth presidential elections in Belarus, according to which Lukashenko was re-elected for another term. Brussels continued to call him illegitimate after the inauguration but admitted that they would still maintain contacts.

Against this background, in early October, the head of the European Council Charles Michel announced that the EU was imposing sanctions against 40 Belarusian citizens involved in electoral fraud and torture of detained protesters. But then the restrictive measures did not affect Lukashenko.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *