The US simultaneously with the EU imposes new sanctions due to the arrest of Navalny

The United States is imposing on seven Russian officials in connection with the case of Russian opposition leader Alexei Navalny.

This was reported by the American media, among which the Axios edition, with reference to high-ranking officials of the US administration.

These are the first that the United States is imposing on Kremlin-linked officials under the presidency of Joe Biden, who, upon taking office, has pledged to counter Russian aggression and human rights abuses.

Administration officials told reporters during a telephone briefing that the names of those hit by the will not be released until late Tuesday. However, according to them, American intelligence estimates “with great confidence” that Russian intelligence officers poisoned Navalny with the Novichok nerve agent.

The have been agreed with the European Union, which on Tuesday separately announced it had imposed restrictions on four Russian law enforcement officials for their role in the arrest, prosecution, and sentencing of Navalny.

The US will also add 14 Russian chemical and biological weapons businesses to the Commerce Department’s blacklist.

“The United States is not trying to reset our relationship with Russia, and we are not trying to exacerbate it,” one administration official told reporters.

As reported, the EU list includes the head of the Investigative Committee of the Russian Federation, Alexander Bastrykin, the Prosecutor General Igor Krasnov, the head of the Russian Guard Viktor Zolotov, and the head of the Federal Penitentiary Service Alexander Kalashnikov. Now they are banned from entering the EU countries, as well as keeping financial assets in the banks of the EU countries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *