The Communist Party of Germany was not allowed to participate in the parliamentary elections

The Communist Party of Germany was not allowed to participate in the parliamentary elections

The German Electoral Commission decided on Thursday that the Communist Party of Germany (DKP) will temporarily not be allowed to participate in the to the federal parliament on September 26 due to non-compliance with the necessary formalities.

This is reported by DPA.

The Commission found that the DKP, founded in 1968, lost its status as a political party due to the fact that it repeatedly failed to submit the required reports on its activities to the authorities within the established deadlines.

The party, which in 2017 won only 11,558 votes according to the proportional count across the country, has four days to appeal the decision. DKP rejected this decision and announced that it would appeal.

At the same time, the Marxist-Leninist Party of Germany (MLPD) was admitted to the elections, which won 29,785 votes in the last election.

On Thursday, the commission began a two-day check of the registration of 87 small parties and associations to assess whether they meet the requirements of the law. Parties that have passed the commission must still provide a specified number of signatures from sponsors.

According to the German electoral system, there is a 5 percent threshold for entering parliament, which works against minor parties, breakaway groups, and independents.

The South Schleswig Electorate Association (SSW), a party of Germany’s Danish minority and the Frisian ethnic group, was also allowed to run.

The party hopes to win at least one seat in the Bundestag — this may become possible since the commission has declared it a national minority party, for which the 5% threshold does not apply.

The party was also allowed to participate in the elections, although the Federal Office for the Protection of the German Constitution classified it as an “extreme right” party with members belonging to the “neo-Nazi environment”.

Federal Election Commissioner Thiel noted that the commission’s audit concerned only procedural requirements and not issues related to content.

Six political groups are represented in the outgoing Bundestag: the conservative alliance of the Christian Democratic Union (CDU) and the Christian Social Union (CSU), the Social Democrats (SPD), the far-right Alternative for Germany (AfD), the liberal Free Democrats, the far-left Die Linke, and the Greens.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *