Baltic states will expand sanctions against Belarus

We are talking about the expansion of and this list will not be final, said Latvian Foreign Minister Edgar Rinkevich.

, , and Estonia will present a general list of persona non grata in the coming days, which will include about 100 officials from . This was announced on Thursday, September 24, by the Latvian Foreign Minister Edgar Rinkevich, Delfi reported.

We are talking about the expansion of sanctions and this list will not be final, Rinkevich said. According to him, Latvia, Lithuania, and Estonia have decided to expand the sanctions list without waiting for a similar decision by the .

Earlier, the Baltic states have already included 30 Belarusian officials on the list of undesirable persons for entry, who are accused of involvement in the falsification of the results of the presidential elections in Belarus and the brutal suppression of protests.

The foreign ministers of the EU countries at a meeting on Monday, September 21, failed to agree on the sanctions lists of Belarusian officials responsible for falsifying election results, as well as the use of violence against protesters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *